Review: All I’ve Never Wanted by Anna Huang

All I’ve Never Wanted by Ana Huang

61HSEJ1qgbL._SX312_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

“The Scions were the four richest, most powerful guys at Valesca Academy, and they ruled the school with iron fists. Everyone wanted to date them or be them…everyone, that is, except Maya Lindberg, who just wanted to avoid them until she could graduate.

She almost succeeded, until an ill-advised outburst on her part put her right in the Scions’ path. Just like that, one became her fake boyfriend, one her unwanted matchmaker, one her guardian angel, and the one she couldn’t stand the most? Yeah, he’s her new housemate.

A Young Adult romantic comedy that explores what happens when a girl gets everything she never asked for, including a puppy, a new wardrobe, and, possibly, even true love.”

-Amazon

 

My Thoughts:

This book actually has a rating of 4/5 on Amazon, which I find very surprising after reading the book. Many readers gave it lower ratings because they believed the story was too similar to a popular Korean drama, Boys Over Flowers. While I can’t comment on that, I will say that I did not really like this book.

First of all, you have to accept that this book is nothing like most people’s high school experiences. It’s incredibly over the top, and even the basic plot-line is far from realistic. However, if you can accept these (which I did) it is a fun plot.

However, there was still so much that did not work for me. I found myself having to skip through pages, because I couldn’t stay interested. None of the characters were incredibly likable. And while Maya definitely seems like a cool girl, I was very indifferent to her throughout the story.

That being said, there were parts that were actually really fun/funny. There were moment’s when Maya’s grandmother actually made me laugh out loud.

In a few words…

2.5/5

I wouldn’t recommend All I’ve Never Wanted. It’s a fun plot, but there is a lot that doesn’t work.

If you liked it, try…

I would recommend the Private series by Kate Brian. The books are darker, and they are about a very elite boarding school. Very addictive (at least the first few).

If you’ve read it, please let me know what you think!

Happy Reading!

-Neha 🙂

Leave a Reply

