Review: Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

51nLJvQg4lL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

From Amazon:

“After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own. Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence. This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking. A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.”

 

My Thoughts:

So this book has really great reviews on Amazon, a 4.5/5 based off one hundred reviews. Feel free to keep that in mind, because I did not like it quite that much.

I’m not saying I didn’t like Open Road Summer, but I didn’t love it. It was a solid, fast read.

Let’s start with the things I liked. I liked how Lord portrayed Reagan and Dee’s (that’s Lilah) friendship. I know what it’s like to love your best friend like she’s your family, and Reagan and Dee’s friendship definitely gave me the warm fuzzies and reminded me of my own best friend. I like that Reagan’s thing is that she’s a tough girl, while Dee is much more wholesome and sweet. Both girls seemed like people I would like to be friends with.

Reagan is very likeable. She’s sassy, spunky and she’s got attitude. Basically everything I love in a girl. While I liked all the characters, including Dee and Matt, I felt the characters lacked the depth that could have made this book great rather than good.

Even within Reagan, I had a hard time understanding why she was doing the things she did. Early on, we learn that her mother abandoned her when she was younger. However, this history is just kind of thrown in there. It feels like a half-hearted explanation for Reagan’s choices.

And look, I’m not saying that having your mom leave you is an easy thing to deal with. It absolutely isn’t. However, I’ve read books where less serious problems are presented, but the language can make me feel the frustration, the sadness that the protagonist is feeling. For the most part, Open Road Summer didn’t make me feel much of anything. While there were a few really good scenes that completely sucked me in, they felt few and far between.

Finally, as far as the writing is concerned, there were several quotes that I felt beautifully captured individual moments. I will be on the lookout for more from Emery Lord.

 

In a few words…

3/5

Overall, Open Road Summer was a solid read. Many people really liked it, and I would say that if the plot appeals to you, you’ll probably enjoy it.

 

If you’ve read it, please let me know what you thought!

Happy reading!

-Neha 🙂

Leave a Reply

