Nobody’s Goddess by Amy McNulty Blog Tour

unnamed

From Goodreads:

“In a village of masked men, magic compels each man to love only one woman and to follow the commands of his “goddess” without question. A woman may reject the only man who will love her if she pleases, but she will be alone forever. And a man must stay masked until his goddess returns his love—and if she can’t or won’t, he remains masked forever.

Seventeen-year-old Noll isn’t in the mood to celebrate. Her childhood friends have paired off and her closest companion, Jurij, found his goddess in Noll’s own sister. Desperate to find a way to break this ancient spell, Noll instead discovers why no man has ever chosen her.

Thus begins a dangerous game between the choice of woman versus the magic of man. And the stakes are no less than freedom and happiness, life and death—and neither is willing to lose.”

My thoughts:

To start off I’m going to say that Nobody’s Goddess is not the type of book I would usually pick up and read. I don’t really read much fantasy. However, the concept of the book was so unique that I wanted to participate in the blog tour.

The world in Nobody’s Goddess is one of the best parts of the book. It pulls you in, and you spend the first few chapters simply trying to make sense of it. One thing that I really liked about the book was its portrayal of women. There was a nontraditional balance of power between the men and women in the story, and it’s something you really don’t see very often.

I personally did not connect a ton with any of the characters, and I’m not sure why that is. I definitely respected Noll for her bravery and her desire to fight for her own freedom, but I couldn’t see myself being friends with her. I didn’t love the secondary characters, but I liked the complex portrayal of Noll’s family. Their relationships with one another felt very real in a way I could identify with.

The book definitely ends much stronger than it starts. It took me a while to really get into the story, but I was happy that I’d read it.

In short, I would recommend this book to anyone who’s already a fan of this sub-genre of YA. I would also recommend it to anyone who’s looking for a book that dares to be different. Although I didn’t love everything, it was nice to read a book and not have the “this plot sounds familiar” feeling.

Most importantly this is a TOTAL girl-power book, and you have to give it credit for that.

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I had a great time participating in this blog tour! Please check out the other blogs on this tour at http://www.chapter-by-chapter.com/tour-schedule-nobodys-goddess-by-amy-mcnulty-presented-by-month9books/.

Happy reading!

Neha 🙂

Leave a Reply

